Stages of Parkinson's Disease

Parkinson's Disease Stage II

A person is categorized as stage II if the following are present:
  • Symptoms occur on both sides of the body
  • Minimal disability
  • Posture and gait are affected.
Medication may be started during stage I or II and typically involves one of the less powerful Parkinson's disease medications. This includes such drugs as:
Using these medicines first allows the healthcare provider to save the most powerful treatment (specifically, levodopa) for the time when people need it most.

Parkinson's Disease Stage III (Moderate Parkinson's Disease)

Stages III, IV, and V are when a person develops significant disability from Parkinson's disease. A person in stage III is considered to have moderate Parkinson's disease.
A person is categorized with stage III if the following are present:
  • Significant slowing of body movements
  • Early impairment of equilibrium when walking or standing
  • Generalized dysfunction that is moderately severe.
Stage III is when levodopa is usually first prescribed (see Parkinson's Disease Medications).

Stage IV (Advanced Parkinson's Disease)

A person is categorized with stage IV of the disease if the following are present:
  • Severe symptoms
  • The person can still walk to a limited extent
  • Rigidity and bradykinesia are present
  • Person is no longer able to live alone
  • Tremor may be less than earlier stages.
This stage is considered advanced Parkinson's disease.
Know the Signs - Concussion Safety

Parkinson's Disease Information

Terms of Use
Advertise with Us
Contact Us
About eMedTV
Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2006-2019 Clinaero, Inc.
eMedTV serves only as an informational resource. This site does not dispense medical advice or advice of any kind. Site users seeking medical advice about their specific situation should consult with their own physician. Click Terms of Use for more information.