Parkinsons Disease Home > Stages of Parkinson's Disease

There are five Parkinson's disease stages. This helps healthcare providers decide what treatment to recommend and to help families better understand how the condition progresses. These categories include stages I through V, and can also be described as early, moderate, and advanced Parkinson's disease. The effects and severity of symptoms increases with each of these five stages.

An Overview of Parkinson's Stages

There are several rating systems in place to stage Parkinson's disease. A widely used scale developed by Hoehn and Yahr categorizes people with the disease into one of five stages. These stages can help healthcare providers decide what treatment to recommend. They can also help families gain a better understanding of how Parkinson's disease progresses. The overall effect and severity of Parkinson's disease symptoms increases with each of these stages.
Healthcare providers may also describe Parkinson's disease stages as early, moderate, and advanced.

Stage I (Beginning Stage of Parkinson's)

Stage I is considered the beginning stage of the disease. A person is categorized with stage I if the following are present:
  • Signs and symptoms are only on one side of the body
  • Symptoms are mild
  • Symptoms are inconvenient but not disabling
  • Usually has tremors in one limb
  • Friends have noticed changes in posture, locomotion, and facial expression.
Stage I is also known as early-stage Parkinson's disease.
Written by/reviewed by:
Last reviewed by: Arthur Schoenstadt, MD
Last updated/reviewed:
List of references (click here):
Other Articles in This eMedTV Presentation

Topics & Medications


Related Channels

eMedTV Links
Copyright © 2006-2019 Clinaero, Inc.

eMedTV serves only as an informational resource. This site does not dispense medical advice or advice of any kind. Site users seeking medical advice about their specific situation should consult with their own physician. Click Terms of Use for more information.

This site complies with the HONcode standard for trustworthy health information:
verify here.